You can’t spell Spain without pain

Even after Spring Break, my adventures were no where near done. I arrived home from Italy only to be greeted by my older sister Rachel. Three years ago, she had the amazing opportunity to live in Barcelona and now here we are, a few years later and her dream of reliving the abroad glory days are right in her hands. All she wanted was one last taste of Abroadcelona. Even though I was just ending my Spring Break, I was more than ready for my next adventure in my favorite city with my favorite person.

12439360_10154597797537565_1246248924374416451_n
For our first adventure, we went to Parc Ciutadella where we took out the row boats and had a nice day on the lake. After relaxing in the park, we walked to the Arc de Triomf where we saw all different street performers with incredible talents. We stayed in that area until we were ready to siesta before dinner. By popular demand, her request was of course, Bo de B. Music to my ears. We each got a bocadillo and Patatas Bravas and inhaled our favorite Barcelona treasure. Before passing out, I took her down my favorite street in El Born and we got some empanadas for dinner para llevar. We hung out and watched a movie with our dinner before getting ready for our next big day.

We got up early and headed to Park Guell. We’ve both already been here before, but going back now was nostalgic, and we’ve never been with each other. We got to the ticket booth around 2:00 PM and of course all passes were sold out until about 7:00 PM… Cool. We weren’t about to just leave. So after almost an hour of debate, I finally convinced Rachel to jump the fence with me and sneak in. The most rebellious she’s ever been so her adrenaline was pumping. If you ask my sister, we were two American outlaws, but in reality we were just two Gaudi lovers strolling around the gardens, looking at all of the beautiful art.

img_1125

Up next on the menu, was a new restaurant my roommate introduced me to called “La Alcoba Azul.” My sister had never tried it and was so excited for a new tapas experience. This restaurant had it’s own twist on traditional tapas. It primarily focused on different flat breads that are cut into shareable pieces. It’s definitely not Sensi, but its always delicious. We then headed home to get ready for Loco Lunes.


My sister has had dreams about reliving Loco Lunes, and when she found out they changed the location to Opium, she merely had a heart attack of joy. When we woke up, it felt like a ton of bricks were poured onto our heads. It took all the strength we had left in our bodies to turn down Bo de B right around the corner from me. The only cure was a day on the beach and CDLC for sangria and 5 euro massages. So thankful we were able to drink away our hangover right in time for our next meal! This time, we invited my boyfriend to our favorite tapas restaurant called, Sensi. No surprise it was just as good as she had remembered and still to this day one of my favorite tapas restaurants in Barcelona.

img_1199

The next day, we grabbed lunch at my favorite spot in La Boqueria, called El Quim. This tapas place was too legit. No reservations, no tables, first come first serve, and if you can’t find a seat, enjoy your meal standing at the bar. The locals didn’t mind, my sister definitely did. That being said, we got two chairs and had amazing tapas made right in front of you. We got croquettes, muscles, and an incredible beef tartar.

Now that our stomachs were full and our hearts were happy, we were ready to end our journey with a final stroll through La Boqueria. As if the candy here wasn’t enough, we had to stop by Happy Pills so Rachel could bring some goodies home with her. I was sad to see Rachel’s trip coming to an end, but I’m so happy she added onto my already incredible experience abroad.

Leave a Reply

