Czech me out!

Ever since my March of the Living trip to Poland senior year of high school, I had never been a big fan of Eastern Europe. It was cold, gloomy, and the people were kind of the worst. That was my impression off Eastern Europe, until everyone and their mothers decided to study abroad in Prague.  So it got my thinking, maybe there is a reason people love the city so much. I was eager to finally Czech it out for myself.DCIM101GOPRO

After getting settled in, we walked straight to the Old Town Square, and my jaw literally dropped. I had never seen a city so beautiful. The buildings looked like they had been up for thousands of years, yet were perfectly preserved. And they were basically castles straight out of a fairy tale. There were street performers at every angle of the square, with people levitating, dressed up in interesting costumes, and the usual European bubble making for tourists.

DCIM101GOPRO

Now that we saw all the beauty Prague had to offer, we couldn’t help but notice a giant row of food stands. How could we ever fully experience Prague without indulging in their cuisines? We got the ever so basic chips on a stick and an interesting potato dish, but what we were looking for was so much more. Our friends who studied abroad here had told us that we absolutely had to find fried cheese. Apparently Prague is pretty notorious for that. A few hours of searching later and we finally stumbled by a little stand, hidden behind the ally ways of Old Town Square. We thought we had hit the jackpot, until our noses got a whiff of something sweet.

First on our list was to take a tour around the city. We didn’t want to take just any tour though. So we took Segway’s through the city and to the top of a mountain to see Prague from a different angle than we’d already seen. After gazing at the beauty for an hour or so, we headed back down to Old Times Square to regroup and see more. We walked across the Charles Bridge and tried finding our way to every girls number one priority when visiting…

12800316_10205940920342984_4291757711221834146_n

…If you can’t think of it, I’ll give you a hint. Girls from all over America wait years for their perfect picture in front of the most basic wall in Europe. That’s right, the John Lennon Wall. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m a HUGE Beatles fan, but this wall was kind of a disappointment. It was a wall, probably no longer than 10 feet, covered with graffiti. I didn’t understand what all the hype was about, but I sure did get my basic picture in front of it.

Leave a Reply

